Academic Calendar

Bhutan's First and Only A+ Accredited Institution      Inspiring Education in Bhutan

SPRING SEMESTER (FEBRUARY–JULY 2017)

Feb
17-20
 
Feb
21-23
 
Feb
24-25
Orientation for new staff When: Fri-Sat, 24-25th Feb
 
Feb
27-28
Losar – (Holidays) When: Mon-Tue, 27-28th Feb
 
Mar
6-10
 
Apr
12
 
Apr
20-24
Mid-term examinations When: Thu-Mon, 20-24th Apr
 
May
2
Teachers’ Day Activities When: Tue, 2nd May
 
May
24
Student Government Elections When: Wed, 24th May
 
June
9
 
June-July
24-1
Semester-end - (Final) Examinations When: Sat-Sat, 24th Jun-1st Jul
 
July
2
Sixth Graduation Day When: Sun, 2nd July
 
July
3
 
July
6
All SE grades to be submitted When: Thur, 6th July
 
July
7
 
July
9-30
Summer vacation When: Sun, 9th-30th July
 
July
27
 
July
27-29
New Faculty orientation program When: Thu-Sat, 27-29th July
 
July
28-30
 
July
31
 

FALL SEMESTER (JULY–DECEMBER 2017)

July
27
New Faculty report to college When: Thu, 27th July
 
July
27-29
 
Jul-Aug
31-2
Semester planning by faculty When: Mon-Wed, 31st July-02 Aug
 
July-Aug
31-2
Orientation for Freshmen When: Mon-Wed, 31st Jul-2nd Aug
 
Aug
3-8
 
Aug
16
RTC Club Fair When: Wed, 16th Aug
 
Aug
21
 
Aug
23
Prize Award Day When: Wed, 23rd Aug
 
Sept
6
 
Sept
23
Blessed Rainy Day (Holiday) When: Sat, 23rd Sept
 
Sept
26-29
Mid-term Exams When: Tue-Fri, 26-29th Sept
 
Sept
30
Dasain When: Sat, 30th Sept
 
Sept-Oct
30-2
Thimphu Tshechu (Holiday) When: Sat-Mon, 30th Sep-2nd Oct
 
Nov
1
Coronation Day (Holiday) When: Wed, 1st Nov
 
Nov
10
 
Nov-Dec
25-2
Semester-end (Final) Examinations When: Sat-Sat, 25th Nov-2nd Dec
 
Dec
7
All SE grades submitted. When: Thu, 7th Dec
 
Dec
8
 

SPRING SEMESTER (FEBRUARY–JULY 2018) Tentative

Jan-Feb
19-15
Winter Session 2018 When: Mon-Thu, 19th Jan-15th Feb
 
Feb
16-17
 
Feb
18-20
 
Feb
19
 
Feb
19-20,24
Orientation for new staff When: Mon, 19-20th & 24th Feb
 
Feb
21-23
 
Feb
28
 
Mar
1-6
 
Apr
11
 
Apr
26-30
Mid-term examinations When: Thu-Mon, 26-30th Apr
 
May
2
 
May
23
 
May
29
 
Jun
22-30
Semester-end (Final) Examinations When: Fri–Sat, 22–30rd Jun
 
Jul
1
Seventh Graduation Day When: Sun, 1 Jul
 
Jul
5
All SE grades submitted. When: Thu, 5 Jul
 
Jul
6
 
Jul
8-29
Summer vacation for faculty When: Sat, 8-29th Jul
 
Jul
26
 
Jul
26-28
New Faculty orientation program When: Thu-Sat, 26-28 Jul
 
Jul
27-29
 
Jul-Aug
30-1
Semester planning by faculty When: Mon-Wed, 30th Jul-1st Aug
 
Jul-Aug
30-1
Semester planning by faculty When: Mon-Wed, 30th Jul-1st Aug
 
Jul-Aug
30-1
Orientation for Freshmen When: Mon-Wed, 30th Jul-1st Aug
 

1. The College follows a semester system with 15 weeks of teaching, a week for examinations, and a week for evaluation and results (for faculty only). This will mean an approximate term length of 16 weeks for students and 17 weeks for faculty. There will be a winter vacation of 11 weeks and a summer vacation of three weeks

2. Faculty members report to the college at least a week before the reopening day for planning and orientation in each semester and will be asked to stay up to two weeks after official closure for any planned staff development activities. The actual dates for such activities and the vacation will be communicated to the faculty at the start of every academic session.

 

RTC Address

 Royal Thimphu College  

 Ngabiphu, Thimphu

 P.O. Box: 1122

 PABX: (975) 02-351801/02-351802

 Fax: (975) 02-351806

 Website: www.rtc.bt

 Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.